Skip to content

Louis Louis

November 19, 2010

You have all seen the Louis XVI chairs around and about.  And if you haven’t, I’m not sure where you’ve been….

I was on the hunt for one of these bad boys so that I could attempt to recover it.  I finally found this one at Ubberhaus last Winter:

However, at $75, I wasn’t sure I wanted to attempt anything with fabric.  Someday I’d love to get this recovered in a nubby linen fabric (like the Wisteria version below) but until then,  I had to get rid of that dark mid 1990’s wood.

images/w4075-large.jpg

To begin, I taped off the fabric.  Then RIPPED OFF the tape and went at it full force. (Note to other DIYs — that “Frog Tape” that people praise?  Yeah, it’s shitty — don’t buy it).

In some places, I literally pushed down the fabric, painted, and let go.  I am shameful…

So,  you ask, are there small bits of paint on the fabric?  Yes.  Can the normal everyday person see it?  NO.  ‘Nuff said.

I do love a little of the dark wood peeking through on the arms and top.

(although I don’t like that bit of dark wood peeking out above.  That, my friends, is just a plain old-fashioned mistake…)

What do you think?   Right color?  Does it need more distressing?

Linking up to Chic on a Shoestring, Finding Fabulous, Perfectly ImperfectCottage Instincts, Keeping it Simple, Between Naps on the Porch/Met Monday, Today’s Creative Blog,and Miss Mustard Seed
9 Comments leave one →
  1. angie permalink
    November 19, 2010 6:22 pm

    Ooooooooh La La. You did a really nice job with that, SNM! I’ll admit, when you first said you were painting over that dark, rich-looking wood, I thought, “She wouldn’t!” But you were right! The outcome is fabulous. And I love how the dark wood peeks out in the grooves, too. Beautiful. Don’t change a thing! You continue to amaze 🙂

  2. Stacy Clark permalink
    November 19, 2010 7:05 pm

    Dear Un-Martha,
    Fabulous eye for a great find! When I saw that dark wood, I thought Oh No She Didn’t! But you did and it looks great! I vote for more distressing but it is hard to tell over a photo.

  3. November 22, 2010 8:00 am

    Nice transformation! I’m glad you left a bit of the dark in the crevices — it gives great character.

  4. November 22, 2010 8:51 am

    I love your transformation, beautiful chair. Very nice job!
    sherry

  5. November 22, 2010 10:02 am

    Love that transformation – (and I’m right there with you on the frog tape. It sucks and everytime I’ve used it I regret it). I love that you don’t care if it’s perfect – that’s my kind of restoration! Visiting from BNOTP.

  6. November 22, 2010 10:24 am

    Oh, I LOVE that chair!! Very Purdy! 🙂
    Hope you have a great week.
    Beth.

  7. November 22, 2010 10:52 am

    OMG that chair is gorgeous!!!!

    Luvs!

  8. November 22, 2010 12:17 pm

    It is so pretty! I think I would distress it a bit more but it is pretty as it is now. Great job!

Trackbacks

  1. Master Bedroom – Making it Happen « Shes.No.Martha

Leave a Reply

