Skip to content

And the Trophy Goes to…

March 9, 2010

Cottage Living, Idea House 2008.  I see this room with the white glossy spray-painted trophies and think it is quirky, but it sticks in my brain 2 years later (which is a FEAT considering I can’t remember my gym locker combination after a 45-minute spinning class).

ideahouse08 by Eva Rees.

via Flickr_Cottage Living

ideahouse05 by Eva Rees.

via Flickr_Cottage Living

See the trophies? 

Flash Forward, Winter 2010.  Nearly every day, I look at my son’s shelves and determine something is NOT right with the miscellaneous crap thrown up there including a lot of baby blue items given to us post-birth.  Something was missing.  Something needed to be red.  Cue:  Cottage Living image.  Enter:  9  trophies for $5 (via my want ads at work).

 Slap on some red spray-paint and…Voila:

 

Now, there is an entire back story to this…the kid loves trophies.  I give out invisible trophies all the time to the kids for inducing various behaviours (and they FALL for it!).

$5 spray painted trophies-cum-art.  Who knew?

Linking up to:
DIY Day @ ASPTL

14 Comments leave one →
  1. angie permalink
    March 9, 2010 8:26 am

    THAT is a neat idea! The trophies look so great on S’s shelf! Love the red!!!!

  2. March 9, 2010 10:58 am

    I love that!!!!! Great idea. Looks so much better!

  3. March 9, 2010 12:00 pm

    They really do look like art when they are painted that way! I wonder if I could get my kids to go for it…

  4. March 9, 2010 1:02 pm

    Just had to comment on this one…BRILLIANT.

    Marsha

  5. beth permalink
    March 9, 2010 6:44 pm

    probably could have raided mom’s attic for tons of trophies…oh wait…they would all be soccer players. i’m staring at a gigantic fantasy football tropy you could have! on other hand i believe my goal given to me by “my house stager” was to put a ball of moss in the top. want to spray paint our madame alexander dolls pink for the diva and rhino’s rooms?

  6. March 9, 2010 9:02 pm

    That’s such a fun idea!!

  7. Michelle permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:15 am

    How awesome! You are soooo creative. I need help with Ben’s room . . . transforming it into a “big boy” room. Any ideas? Maybe you could be my interior decorator! šŸ™‚

  8. March 10, 2010 10:17 am

    Are you kidding me. You mean that is what I could have done with all those trophies I took to Goodwill last year. Brillant!

  9. March 10, 2010 11:55 am

    I love this idea-and I’ve got a box of old trophies in the shed. Think my husband would notice if I spray painted them? šŸ˜‰

  10. molly permalink
    March 10, 2010 4:48 pm

    I did the SAME thing. when i redid my boys bathroom, i found an old baseball trophy (my boys obviously wouldnt give up theirs) at GW and got the idea. I painted mine ORB and it looks great next to old baseballs in a wire basket, on a shelf about the toilet. One of these days i am gonna start my own blog. Neat to know someone else saw potential in an old trophy.

  11. March 12, 2010 4:28 pm

    So cute! If we have a boy, I so want to do this!

  12. April 15, 2010 7:45 am

    Love the red trophies.

Leave a Reply

