Skip to content

Easy & Cheap DIY Art

February 9, 2010

I really don’t like “themes” for kids’ rooms.  Disney Characters (yuck), trains (yawn), Diego (estúpido)…I don’t know, maybe it’s just me.

I prefer to choose a “concept.” And for Grand Slam’s big boy room, my concept was a mix of colors: Brown, Red, Creams, and a lime-y green.  For cheap inexpensive art, I found some scrapbook paper that had some of the colors I wanted to showcase  plus some fun geometric shapes.  I thought, mmm…maybe I can find some frames to fit these.  Lo and behold Michael’s actually sells 12 x 12 frames for the very purpose of framing your fav scrapbook page! Who knew?

I bought 9 frames, tirelessly placed the paper in said frames and VOILA.  (Note: measurement of the grid and hammering into the wall were  completed by the Hubby).  Notice I have some patterns that repeat….I couldn’t find 9 unique papers that I liked so I doubled up; however, at the time of this post, there are 4 more new pages sitting in a bag somewhere waiting to make their way up on the wall.

Also, don’t go to Pottery Barn or Land of Nod for letters — go to Michael’s and pick up some paper mache letter (maybe $.99 each?).  Slap on some acrylic paint — and there you go.

Can I boast about the little printing block Z?  I picked up a couple of these old printing blocks at my dream shop, Bloomsbury Loft (a MUST visit if you are in the hood). It’s the first letter of Grand Slam’s middle name and I love how it breaks up the other letters.

Linking up to:

DIY Day @ ASPTL
Head on over for some more cheap DIY lovliness!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Sally permalink
    February 9, 2010 7:02 am

    I am impressed that Josh was able to hang all those pictures so straight! That is not an easy job!

  2. beth permalink
    February 9, 2010 8:39 am

    is that the long neck creeping its neck up to be in the framed art picture?

  3. February 12, 2010 1:02 pm

    i love this idea!!! wish i had room for it!!

  4. February 12, 2010 2:51 pm

    What a great idea! So cute!

  5. February 15, 2010 10:48 am

    This is soooo cool! I love all the colors and graphic patterns you have going on here! And great tip that Michael’s sells these frames! Thanks for linkin’ up to FF!

  6. February 15, 2010 10:00 pm

    What a great idea! I had the same thought about the paper mache letters a few months back when I was at Michael’s. You’ve inspired me to go pick some up!

  7. February 17, 2010 11:57 am

    Visiting from SPTL and kudos these are awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. Thank you, Fabulous Jane! « Shes.No.Martha

Leave a Reply

