Skip to content

Blessings

February 5, 2010

I stumbled upon this blog, NieNie Dialogues

Then I read Stephanie Nielsen’s (NieNie) story here.

And while I sat here and cursed the snow that was falling outside my window, I cried endlessly at her story.  It renders me speechless.  And then I start to think about all the shit that worries me.  Turns out, they are all BLESSINGS:

1. I am lucky ONLY to have a scar above my lip from skin cancer and stretch marks on my stomach.   My scars aren’t noticeable and they don’t cause me agonizing pain.

2. I am thankful that when my kids want to sit on my lap all the time or lay on top of me, it truly doesn’t hurt. And now, I welcome it.

3. I will never be a size 6.  Ever.  But I am strong and healthy and can hug my husband and tickle my children without wincing in pain.

4. I know I will still fret about dirty laundry, dishes piled high, looming work deadlines, and the guilt of a working mother…but if that is all I have to worry about, than I am truly blessed.

peace.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. beth permalink
    February 6, 2010 1:10 pm

    like the post…like the bracelet….make everyday count…this is my motto this year….2010 will be positive!

  2. February 11, 2010 11:21 pm

    So heartwarming, a poignant story!
    Karena

    • February 12, 2010 6:27 am

      I agree, Karena. It was a gamechanger for my mood that day. I can’t imagine her strength…

Leave a Reply

